us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.

It seemed only natural that eventually the Non-Phixion and Jedi Mind Tricks camps would eventually converge, given both crews’ share a similar obsession for conspiracy theories spread throughout history, not to mention raw, dark beats fashioned after classic, 90′s hip-hop. Ill Bill and Vinnie Paz collaborated on a track called “Heavy Metal Kings” some time back, leading to the eventual collaborative LP of the same name. If you’ve witnessed either artist on any of their respective releases, you know what to expect; and teaming the two of them has arguably released some of their strongest tracks yet.

“Keeper Of The Seven Keys” and “Eye Is King” kick things off, but it’s “Impaled Nazarene” that really settles the album in. Over a ridiculous Middle Eastern inspired track by Grand Finale, it touches upon both an altered history of the life of Christ and that of the Waco Siege, closing out on a chilling note. The psychedelic “Children of God” follows, leading into the ridiculously dope “Blood Meridian”, over a brooding track by DJ Premier protege Gem Crates. Dr. Octagon would be envious.

“Age of Quarrel” also stands out with it’s nefarious piano driven track, as does the posse cut “Metal In Your Mouth” (feat. Slaine and Q-Unique), with both tracks helmed by Jack of All Trades. But the crown jewel of them all goes to the most experienced producer of them all, DJ Muggs, on “Leviathan (The Spell of Kingu)”. Besides being one of the illest tracks of the record, it seals the deal with a classic Wu-Tang sample on the hook, which we won’t spoil here.

The music of both Jedi Mind Tricks and Non-Phixion is an acquired taste, and is not for everybody.
That said, some may find the relentless pace of the album a little overbearing, given the formula of rhymes by Bill and Vinnie, meshed with sixteen bludgeoning beats. But for those that like it raw, it’s pure satisfaction. And what else would you expect from an album called Heavy Metal Kings?

Related Articles
15 Responses to "Ill Bill + Vinnie Paz – “Heavy Metal Kings” – @@@@ (Review)"
  • Dayz says:

    Glad some of you confirmed what I was thinking. No disrespect or hate but this album just wasn’t that good. I really have enjoyed the JMT and AOTP albums but this just missed the mark. Really looking forward to Vinnie’s new solo LP, the next JMT LP and hopefully another ATOP LP!

  • stylesc says:

    y’all don’t like this album? i’m loving it to the fullest. this ain’t sissy music, that must be the reason.

  • Dayz says:

    @ stylesc, well as far as my last comment goes, can’t speak for the rest of the guys, but I stated I liked all the JMT and AOTP albums and those all certainly were not sissy music… I just didn’t really like this album as I didn’t think it was all that great… No hate just wasn’t for me.

  • Mitch 3K says:

    “Leviathan” and “Blood Meridian” were both awesome tracks, but overall the album was forgettable

    There goinf for round 2 next year with DJ Muggs so hopefully that lives up to expectations

  • Dayz says:

    An album with Muggs? That’s a different story! I’d be very interested in hearing that!

  • Leave a Reply

    Name (required)
    Mail (will not published) (required)
    Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

      Mixtape D.L.
    • No items.
    Recently Commented On