us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.

It seemed only natural that eventually the Non-Phixion and Jedi Mind Tricks camps would eventually converge, given both crews’ share a similar obsession for conspiracy theories spread throughout history, not to mention raw, dark beats fashioned after classic, 90′s hip-hop. Ill Bill and Vinnie Paz collaborated on a track called “Heavy Metal Kings” some time back, leading to the eventual collaborative LP of the same name. If you’ve witnessed either artist on any of their respective releases, you know what to expect; and teaming the two of them has arguably released some of their strongest tracks yet.

“Keeper Of The Seven Keys” and “Eye Is King” kick things off, but it’s “Impaled Nazarene” that really settles the album in. Over a ridiculous Middle Eastern inspired track by Grand Finale, it touches upon both an altered history of the life of Christ and that of the Waco Siege, closing out on a chilling note. The psychedelic “Children of God” follows, leading into the ridiculously dope “Blood Meridian”, over a brooding track by DJ Premier protege Gem Crates. Dr. Octagon would be envious.

“Age of Quarrel” also stands out with it’s nefarious piano driven track, as does the posse cut “Metal In Your Mouth” (feat. Slaine and Q-Unique), with both tracks helmed by Jack of All Trades. But the crown jewel of them all goes to the most experienced producer of them all, DJ Muggs, on “Leviathan (The Spell of Kingu)”. Besides being one of the illest tracks of the record, it seals the deal with a classic Wu-Tang sample on the hook, which we won’t spoil here.

The music of both Jedi Mind Tricks and Non-Phixion is an acquired taste, and is not for everybody.
That said, some may find the relentless pace of the album a little overbearing, given the formula of rhymes by Bill and Vinnie, meshed with sixteen bludgeoning beats. But for those that like it raw, it’s pure satisfaction. And what else would you expect from an album called Heavy Metal Kings?

Related Articles
15 Responses to "Ill Bill + Vinnie Paz – “Heavy Metal Kings” – @@@@ (Review)"
  • stylesc says:

    don’t hate! appreciate . vinnie paz is a beast on the mic. better recognize. i’m white so. hip hop ain’t a color for real. if it’s good. must respect it.

  • Usima bin Laden says:

    Such a boring, vacuous album. They’ve both said it all too many times before and much better than this snorefest. Plodding pseudo-intellectual nonsense. Even the conspiracy theory fanatic whiteboy rap fanatics must be tiring of being sold the same song over and over and over and over again?

  • Dayz says:

    What’s with that name???

  • stylesc says:

    he’s bored with his life. and wants attention. losers will be losers! i’ve seen to many of them.

  • TomL says:

    The cd is not that good even though I’m a definite fan of vinnie (ill bill is another story altogether.)

    Two bangers, 1 solid track and the rest is filler material.. this is after trying my best to listen to it for a while (objectively)


  • Leave a Reply

    Name (required)
    Mail (will not published) (required)
    Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

      Mixtape D.L.
    • No items.
    Recently Commented On