us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
1 September, 2011@12:28 pm

Hip-hop recording artist Torae announces his upcoming debut offering; For The Record, on his Internal Affairs Entertainment imprint. Slated for release on November 1, 2011 the album is an ample fifteen tracks worth of high-caliber production and impeccable rhyme.

For The Record is sure to transcend the expectations of new listeners and staunch supporters alike, with veteran MCs like Masta Ace heralding it as his greatest contribution thus far.

“The combination of stellar production and a focused and more introspective Torae makes this his best work to date,” the fellow Brooklyn native stated.

Known for a roster of impressive collaborations, Torae has assembled an awe-inspiring crew of beatsmiths for accompaniment. From the renowned Pete Rock, DJ Premier, Diamond D and Large Professor; to those Torae labels “new legends,” 9th Wonder, Khrysis, Fatin, Illmind, Eric G., Marco Polo and Nottz.

For The Record raises the bar Torae has set with previous releases. A refreshing return to the multifarious nature of 2008’s Daily Conversation, the project is a notable change from 2009’s Double Barrel with Marco Polo, and this year’s mono-thematic Heart Failure EP. Fans will hear his skills sharpened; an array of cadences and intricately weaved rhyme patterns. He is also at his most vulnerable and transparent; providing a view through a wide-angle lens at the man behind the MC, as heard on “Panorama” and “Reflection.” Still there’s no shortage of the hard-hitting audacity we love on tracks like “Shakedown” and “You Ready.”

Also distinct is the absence of other voices on For The Record. According to Torae, the choice to forego lyrical assists was deliberate. “No one can tell my story like me,” he asserted.

1.)      Intro (produced by Torae)
2.)      Alive f/Wes (produced by Khrysis)
3.)      You Ready? (produed by Marco Polo)
4.)      What It Sound Like f/Pav Bundy (produced by !llmind)
5.)      Shakedown (produced by 9th Wonder)
6.)      That Raw (produced by Pete Rock)
7.)      Do The Math (produced by Large Professor)
8.)      Changes (produced by Diamond D)
9.)      Over You f/ Wes (produced by E. Jones)
10.)    Imagine (produced by Eric G)
11.)    Only Way (interlude) (produced by 9th Wonder)
12.)    For The Record (produced by DJ Premier)
13.)    Thank You (produced by Nottz)
14.)    Reflection (produced by Eric G)
15.)    Panorama f/ MeLa Machinko (produced by Fatin)

Torae – “Do The Math” (produced by Large Professor)

Related Articles
2 Responses to "Torae – "For The Record" Cover Art + Tracklist"
  • TomL says:

    If the beats are right this will be a banger… his lyrics alone can’t carry an LP

  • Dayz says:

    Yeah this LP has the recipe for awesomeness! Looking forward to hearing this!

  • Leave a Reply

    Name (required)
    Mail (will not published) (required)
    Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

      Mixtape D.L.
    • No items.
    Recently Commented On