us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.

It seems as though we’ve been talking about Jermaine Cole for years. Impressive guest spots and near classic mixtapes will do wonders for an artist as far as buzz is concerned. In Cole’s case, the hype machine has churned not because of self promotion or an unwarranted co-sign, but rather because of pure talent. Cole is the kind of producer/emcee double threat that is able to not only craft his own sound, but also deliver the words that match the production. As we’ve seen, it can lead to success. So as he brings us his official debut; “Cole World:The Sideline Story”, Cole strives to do what every new anointed one has tried to do: live up to the hype.

In team sports, the sign of a great player is one that makes those around him better. Cole’s seemingly effortless sample based production has warmed the ears of listeners, helping him build a following not only for him, but for others. His raw production, highlighted by his magical use of drums, pleases the ear from beat to beat. In producing all but 3 tracks on Cole World, Cole leaves nothing to chance. Tracks such as “God’s Gift”, “Sideline Story” and the standout title track “Cole World”, highlight Cole’s talent on the production side.

Since dropping The Come Up Mixtape Vol. 1 in 2007, Cole has left an impression and peaked with his arguably classic mixtape Friday Night Lights. At this point in his career, as an emcee, Cole is a more developed Kanye West. Lyrically and in his delivery, Cole delivers impassioned words, often wearing his heart on his sleeve. Introspective tracks such as “Dollar and a Dream III”, “Sideline Story”, “Lost Ones”, “Nobody’s Perfect” and No I.D. produced “Never Told” show Cole at his best. Though an emcee has to diversify material, Cole’s talents as an emcee are shown in his ability to tell a story and be introspective.

Even though it is a very strong, solid debut, Cole World does have it’s weak points. Surprisingly, the album really only has two guests, Jay-Z and Drake, on “Mr. Nice Watch” and “In the Morning”, respectively. However the guest spots are very underwhelming. Both come off as very unimpressive, as Jay sounds like he’s merely appearing to keep the Roc Nation profits up, while Drake phones it in. Neither is really Cole’s fault, but as potentially lead singles, both tracks fall flat.

Critics of Cole have described him as an impressive artist that lacks star power. Though he’s ill on the production side and talented as an emcee, some have argued that his demeanor and lack of a major hit single are what will keep him from blowing up. Talent wise, Cole laps artists that are considered to be his contemporaries, specifically Drake and Wiz Khalifa. However, his lack of self promotion and image as basically a normal dude keep him from making the next step. The same narrative can be used to describe Cole World. Production wise, the album is stout and lyrically Cole does his thing, but Cole World is another example of how impossible it is to live up to the hype machine.

Related Articles
13 Responses to "J. Cole – "Cole World: The Sideline Story" – @@@@ (Review)"
  • sevechild says:

    I respect J. Cole’s grind, but his music has never done anything for me. He just seems so damn boring. Not sure if I’ll check for this especially with all the dope releases lately (Evidence and Phonte specifically).

  • Soul says:

    I agree with the review…I think the album lacks what we all expected…something amazing…though still the album is firm…with weak spots…I don’t think “Mr. Nice Watch” or “In The Morning” are Cole going out of his lane…but I do feel “Mr. Nice Watch” goes out of the album’s lane…The hook is catchy and just about all of Cole’s hooks are…I feel he should have left the tracks we all heard out of his album and provided all new material…though great classic songs…I feel we might have been able to call it a classic if it was all new material. I do feel “In the Morning” goes with the album…the kid is always talking about women…so it doesn’t sound out of place to me…but Mr. Nice watch does…sound out of place in his album as i said above. I feel to me it’s a 3.5 out of 5.

  • Marty McFly says:

    Who gives a flying fuck about the Bronze and Timbo King reviews? Personally I care more about this release, Evidence’s album, Phonte’s album and 9ths new album.

  • BrucePtheGod says:

    When Jay co-signs something people become like bobble heads here…..well, everybody is entitled to an opinion. One has to wonder if Timbo King and Bronze were signed to Columbia instead of being indie if they would get their reviews as fast as some new kid who Jay co signs…you know, since Jay has always had such an ear for talent. Hows Bleak,Amil, Freeway and Beanie Seigal doing these days..?

  • Rizzo says:

    Pizzo’s going to give the Evidence album 5@’s

  • Leave a Reply

    Name (required)
    Mail (will not published) (required)
    Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

      Mixtape D.L.
    • No items.
    Recently Commented On