us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.

With all of the competition in the current rap space, the big dogs of hip-hop are snatching up all of the new talent fast, in order to build Wu-Tang-esque clans, crews, and cliques. It wasn’t quite like this ten or fifteen years ago, as you pretty much had the Wu and the BCC, and then everyone else trying to replicate this formula by signing their cousins and longtime homeboys (Harlem World, Terror Squad, Irv Gotti Presents The Murderererers, etc.) This quickly led to crew albums universally being seen as let downs. But in today’s age, the Lil Waynes, the Rick Rosses, and the Kanyes of the world have chosen a different strategy – building a power circle of established artists, with less weak links in the chain. Case in point is Kanye’s G.O.O.D. Music crew, which has been of quality from the jump – and most recently adding home run king Big Sean and relief pitcher 2 Chainz into the mix. This leads to a line-up of perhaps the strongest team in the game, also including Kanye himself, plus Common, Pusha T, John Legend, and Kid Cudi.

With the success of Kanye and Jay’s “N***as In Paris”, the direction taken on Cruel Summer is almost all trap-inspired club knockers, making this the first album of Kanye’s that’s gone in a decidedly more commercial direction. Let’s back that last statement up with a bit of a disclaimer, however. Kanye, being the trailblazer that he is, lends his own direction to this style of music – the lyrics raw, the vibe dark, the style unique; this isn’t your cookie-cutter rap shit.

That being said, the album produces a handful of “Monster”-esque posse cuts; that is, unpredictable line-ups over brooding production. We’ve heard most of this on the blog circuit already – such as the latest addition “Clique” (feat. Big Sean and Jay-Z), the already classic “Mercy”, the unfortunate Chief Keef endorsement “Don’t Like (Remix)”, Kanye’s mixtape cut “Way Too Cold”, and an extended version of “New God Flow” where Ghostface kills. These are the album’s strongest moments, which leads to a lot of the rest of the project to be a bit of a let down, save “The Morning” with Raekwon, Pusha T, Common, 2 Chainz, CyHi, and Kid Cudi.

Much of the rest of the album is uneven and seemingly randomly strung together. “Higher” over does it with high-fructose corn syrupy autotune, despite an impressive comeback verse from Ma$e, while questionable hooks from R. Kelly (“To The World”) and Marsha Ambrosius (“The One”) seem out of place with the rest of the album’s sinister tone. Meanwhile, the random Kid Cudi cut “Creepers” and the tacked on John Legend/Teyana Taylor collabo “Bliss”, feel largely out of place here.

Kanye’s standard will forever be measured up against My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and as badly as Cruel Summer *wants* to be an album, it still comes off as an uneven compilation record. Sure, managing this many personalities at once probably was a challenge, but with this many characters in the fold, expectations were much higher. By and large, Cruel Summer‘s most satisfying moments we’ve already heard, we just wish there was an equal amount of heat saved for game day.

Related Articles
14 Responses to "Kanye West Presents G.O.O.D. Music “Cruel Summer” – @@@1/2 (Review)"
  • Alaan says:

    The album just came out today! Maybe you heard it before the release date, but let the album simmer for a while and like play it on repeat until you come to a decision. I thought Watch the Throne was a let-down the first few times I heard it, now it’s my favorite album.

  • The man the myth says:

    This shit is wack. Watch the Throne was terrible, Kanye makes pop music now. Get this garbage off of a hip hop site. This had a couple decent tracks, but overall, pretty shitty.

  • Dayz says:

    Yawn… This LP is lame, I am so over Kanye and his crew. The only song I was hoping to be dope at all was New God Flow but the credits claim Ghostface to be on the song when all it is is an extended sample, much like claiming Biggie is on DMX’s Time To Get Paid song. I hate this new marketing strategy of claiming samples to be actual appearances, BOO this trend! And BOO this LP and BOO G.O.O.D. Music in general! Please Common and Pusha T jump ship ASAP!

  • DJ Pizzo says:

    In ‘Ye’s defense, Ghostface IS on “New God Flow” – it’s an album version remix that was not on the previously released single version.

  • Dayz says:

    @DJ Pizzo so his vocals on the hook are actually a new recording and not just a sample? Sounds like a sample to me but I could be wrong…

  • Leave a Reply

    Name (required)
    Mail (will not published) (required)
    Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree

      Mixtape D.L.
    • No items.
    Recently Commented On