us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
swollen members
21 March, 2014 1:29 am

Swollen Members have set Brand New Day as the title of their upcoming ninth studio album, which is slated for a summer release though the group’s newly re-launched label Battleaxe Records. The group will hit the road in support of the album on a North American headlining tour that kicks off on April 23rd in [cont.]

30 December, 2011 11:25 am

Goondox is comprised of hip hop legend PMD, NY hardcore rapper Sean Strange and European beat masters Snowgoons. This massive collaboration video features a dozen rappers from all over the continent. Directed by Tom Vujcic.

4 October, 2011 1:20 pm

From the album Dagger Mouth. © 2011 Suburban Noize Records / Battle Axe Records.

7 September, 2011 6:39 am

Swollen Members, the duo of Madchild and Prevail, along with beatsmith Rob The Viking, have killing it on the underground scene since the mid 90s. Their 1999 debut Balance, was widely acclaimed and is one of those albums that fans still bump, even 10 years later. Repping a little place known as Vancouver, S&M have [cont.]

1 August, 2011 6:28 am

Taken from Monsters II, hitting August 2nd. Rob The Viking on the beat. [Audio clip: view full post to listen] LISTEN: Swollen Members – “Execution” (feat. Souls of Mischief + Strong Arm Steady)

12 April, 2011 5:35 pm

Swollen Members have premiered their new video for “Bring Me Down” featuring Saigon from their new album Dagger Mouthwhich hit stores today through Suburban Noize/Battle Axe Records.

11 April, 2011 9:38 am

“Moonshine” was produced by Rob The Viking and is the latest track from Swollen Members new album Dagger Mouth, which hits stores this week via Suburban Noize/Battle Axe Records. [Audio clip: view full post to listen]

6 April, 2011 12:52 am

Check out the new free download from “Mr. Impossible” from Swollen Members upcoming album Daggermouth dropping April 12th. After going through one of the darkest periods of their musical career, Swollen Members are back and sounding more revitalized than ever. The Vancouver based hip-hop trio has somehow managed to persevere through drug addiction, label collapses, [cont.]

30 March, 2011 4:30 am

“Do or Die” is the latest track from Swollen Members new album “Dagger Mouth” which hits stores on April 12th, 2011 on Suburban Noize/Battle Axe Records. [Audio clip: view full post to listen] Swollen Members – “Do Or Die” (MP3)

8 March, 2011 7:54 pm

Strangely enough, this cut from Saigon’s Greatest Story Never Told, reappears on Swollen Members’ forthcoming April 12th LP, Dagger Mouth, now including verses from longtime HHS homies Madchild and Prevail. [Audio clip: view full post to listen] LISTEN: Swollen Members – “Bring Me Down” (feat. Saigon)

21 October, 2010 12:52 am

Swollen Members take it back to basics with the first single from Dagger Mouth, due next year. Madchild admits to falling off on this track that samples the end credits from Transformers. G1, recognize. [Audio clip: view full post to listen] LISTEN: Swollen Members – “Fresh Air” (MP3)

9 July, 2009 7:21 am

The era of digital only releases continues, as both Swollen Members members have released solo albums via Battle Axe Records. Prevail dropped his EP, Baseball Bats & Nails, this past February, while Mad Child just delivered his self-titled Mad Child EP on July 1st. What’s great about digital releases, are that if Warner Bros. sends [cont.]

26 September, 2006 12:00 am

    Swollen Members have been one of Canada’s hottest hip hop commodities for some time. They have received international fame, had solid sales and a worldwide fan base. But as the group grew in stature with releases like Monsters in the Closet, Balance and Bad Dreams, they collectively tilted their longtime fans’ heads with the [cont.]

20 January, 2004 12:00 am

     Who knew that the little heard 12inch single “Shatterproof” would eventually blossom into four albums, a successful independent rap label, two Juno Awards and unparalleled popularity as leaders of Canada’s rap scene, with popularity even crossing over into the U.S. Yes, Swollen Members went from being the brainchild of Madchild and Prevail, to being one of [cont.]

26 November, 2002 12:00 am

Swollen Members want you to know that this isn’t a real album. No, seriously. The crew put together an album of B-sides and unreleased songs for their fans to enjoy.   The album opens up with the very electronica sounding “Steppin’ Thru”, a song that blurs the boarders of Hip Hop. Prevail takes the opportunity to display [cont.]

1 January, 2001 12:00 am

After selling some 60,000 records independently, and getting crowned with a Juno Award (the Canadian equivalent of a Grammy), Swollen Members return with the follow-up to their well-received debut, Balance. Bad Dreams is the second chapter in Swollen Members legacy, expanding on their original idea, tightening up their song structure, and securing their place in the [cont.]

1 January, 2001 12:00 am

If the beat on “Full Contact” was just better, this might have been a hot collabo – Evidence, Swollen Members, and Chali 2na all pop up, but the simplistic track had me reaching for the FF button even before Chali got his turn on the mic. How did someone manage to sleep on this one? A wasted [cont.]

1 January, 2000 12:00 am

While they were on a tour with Abstract Tribe Unique, we got a chance to hang out with Swollen Members, who had just finished rocking the show. The two were quite drunk, which made this interview twice as much fun. Read on… HHS: Who owns your label, Battle Axe? Madchild: I do, but I have [cont.]

1 January, 1999 12:00 am

While Canadian emcees like Saukrates and Choclair have been getting their fair share of attention as of late, the Vancouver duo of Madchild & Prevail may be the best Canadian import yet (discounting Canada’s tasty alcoholic beverages). First and foremost some hardrocks may have trouble relating to SM’s dungeon & dragons topic matter. Romancing the elements of nature, [cont.]

1 January, 1999 12:00 am

Acting as the first single from Industry’s upcoming Process Of Elimination album, Kool DJ EQ grabs a few acclaimed lyricists once again. Souls of Mischief ”Airborne Rangers” sports different production than we are used to from the Souls, but still sounds cool. “Groundbreaking” pits Swollen Members Vs. a Kool DJ EQ track. Eq’s production is ever [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.
Most Popular Stories