us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
Tim Stroh
6 May, 2003 12:00 am

Although this is only Family Tree’s second release following Planting Seeds, as any Chicago hip-hop head will tell you, their history goes back several years.  First starting off as an alliance between All Natural, Daily Plannet, and Mr. GreenWeedz, the crew eventually expanded to include MC/drummer Iomos Marad and Rita J, the crew’s sole female mc. This [cont.]

28 April, 2003 12:00 am

After the highly anticipated release of his Non-Phixion crew’s The Future is Now LP, Ill Bill  returns with his solo full length Ill Bill is the Future. Following a mixtape format, the album is a good introduction to those that may have been introduced to Ill Bill by way of his Non Phixion material. Many of the [cont.]

8 April, 2003 12:00 am

  What first caught my attention from Planet Asia’s new album Still In Training was the irony of its title.  After all, Asia has already sewn his oats on the underground scene and parlayed that into a major label deal with Interscope where he recorded a still vaulted debut that included collaborations with Pete Rock and Ghostface [cont.]

18 November, 2002 12:00 am

It’s been over 4 years since we last saw a Boot Camp Clik album, and The Chosen Few is the welcomed return of the Brooklyn based conglomerate. From the very first track, “Intro: Yo Boot Camp!”, the BCC acknowledges they haven’t been on the scene for a minute, but assure their fans that its still the [cont.]

12 November, 2002 12:00 am

7L & Esoteric and Brick Records have teamed up once again after some time away to present the sophomore full length release from the Boston duo, entitled Dangerous Connection. One could think of Brick and 7L & Esoteric as a dangerous connection, or 7L & Esoteric themselves as forming the dangerous connection –but either way, the stats [cont.]

1 January, 2002 12:00 am

After releasing two successful singles “The Powers of Nine Ether” and “Metaphysics” on Bobbito’s Fondle Em Records, a European Tour, several side projects, and their debut full length Coming Forth By Day: The Book of the Dead, the Scienz of Life crew returns with their sophomore effort Project: Overground: The Scienz Experiment on Subverse. After first [cont.]

1 January, 2002 12:00 am

When I heard about the new Crime Wave album Scripture Won: The Beginning Of… dropping, I had to pull out my old Shamus “Tight Team” and Crimewave “Serving Life” records for a few spins. They were records I used to spin on the regular, and news of a full length immediately brought back the craving for these [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.
  • No items.
Recently Commented On