us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
17 June, 2014 2:40 am

Double-dose of news today regarding Game’s next two albums. His previously announced Blood Money: Year Of The Wolf for Ca$h Money Records is slated for release September 16th. Not one to be outdone, 50 Cent, has announced on Hartford, CT’s Hot 93.7 Morning Show that his next album, Street King Immortal, will see release on [cont.]

17 June, 2014 2:14 am

Jeru The Damaja has returned with The Hammer EP, an eight song release that was first previewed with last year’s “Solar Flares”, produced by Large Professor. Additional production by P.F. Cuttin’, JuJu Of The Beatnuts, The Polish Kid, and Engineer Lou Sabor. Check out the cover art and tracklist for the project below, as well [cont.]

16 June, 2014 4:27 pm

It was revealed last week that Ice Cube cast his son, OMG, to play him in the upcoming N.W.A. biopic, Straight Outta Compton, directed by F. Gary Gray. Today, The Hollywood Reporter reports that Dr. Dre will be played by Marcus Callender (Dinner At 40), while Eazy-E will be helmed by Jason Mitchell (Contraband, Broken [cont.]

16 June, 2014 2:38 pm

Legendary hip-hop group Souls of Mischief announce that they’re releasing a conceptual collaboration with renowned producer and multi-instrumentalist Adrian Younge entitled There Is Only Now on Adrian’s newly launched record label, Linear Labs on August 26th, 2014. Inspired by a near-fatal incident involving group members A-Plus, Opio, Tajai, and Phesto early in their careers, the [cont.]

14 June, 2014 4:42 pm

Statik Selektah reveals the cover art to his August 19th Showoff / Duck Down Records release, What Goes Around. I dig my man @StatikSelekt new LP cover, but all I can think about is the tonearm bouncing & the needle breaking ;) — DJ Pizzo (@djpizzoHHS) June 13, 2014

12 June, 2014 3:23 pm

Modelled after the classic Street Fighter II artwork, video game giant Capcom will sponsor the upcoming Drake vs. Lil Wayne tour. Who knows if that will extend to character merchandise or add on DLC for Drake and Wayne modelled in the same fashion, but the 30 date tour kicks off September 27th.

11 June, 2014 3:12 pm

Eminem is the first artist to receive two Diamond certified singles – that is, singles that have sold and streamed over 10 million. Both “Not Afraid” and “Love The Way You Lie” (feat. Rhianna), both from his 2010 LP, Recovery, have been awarded the prestigious Diamond plaques from the RIAA. “We are delighted to recognize [cont.]

11 June, 2014 12:18 am

Madlib took to Twitter to announce his next project, Rock Konducta, will drop on July 15th, with a shot of the cover artwork. Rock Konducta. July 15. — Madlib (@madlib) June 10, 2014

10 June, 2014 8:23 am

Cage has announced and released a trailer for his Destroy The Archetype tour, which you can see below. Dates for the 40 city North American trek can be seen here. Additional support from Sam Hill, Sadistik, and Maul Skull.

9 June, 2014 3:57 pm

After their performance of Gambino’s “The Worst Guys” at The Governor’s Ball this past weekend, Donald Glover announced via Twitter that he and Chance The Rapper are working on a collaborative EP. Check out the tweet below, along with some smartphone footage of the performance. now that chance finally released his verse on "worst guys", [cont.]

5 June, 2014 4:41 pm

Mike Will Made It’s got a star-studded single about to drop, featuring each Future, Lil Wayne, and Sir Kendrick. Here’s a peek at the cover art.

4 June, 2014 6:36 am

50 Cent speaks with local Philadelphia Fox affiliate Fox 29. He reveals that a G-Unit reunion album will be released this November. “You’ll see an album by late November,” Fifty confirms when asked about the G-Unit reunion album.

4 June, 2014 5:24 am

Two-time Grammy Award®-winning Chicago rapper, actor Common has fulfilled a life-long goal with the announcement of his signing to No ID’s Artium /Def Jam Recordings. “Kingdom” featuring Vince Staples out now, Common’s lead track from his upcoming tenth studio album Nobody’s Smiling, set for July 22nd release. Nobody’s Smiling marks a creative reunion between Common [cont.]

4 June, 2014 12:57 am

Donald Glover, aka Childish Gambino, delivered the second episode of his Deep Web Tour blog, in the form of an animated video, that looks like a cross between Second Life and Grand Theft Auto V. The mysterious animation, is backed by his music, features a character that shares his likeness, and announces “Because The Internet: [cont.]

3 June, 2014 2:10 am

Today, Adult Swim announces the lineup for the 2014 installment of their acclaimed Singles Program. Returning for the 5th year, the Singles Program is Adult Swim’s series in which they offer a brand new song from a variety of artists across the musical spectrum for free download each Monday throughout the summer. This year’s program [cont.]

3 June, 2014 1:45 am

Common recently wrote a piece on his recently passed friend and mentor, Dr. Maya Angelou, for the Daily Beast. Check it out below. Since I was 5 years old I have loved reading good writing. I would read anything that my mother or the teachers I loved gave me. In the 2nd grade I came [cont.]

1 June, 2014 6:05 pm

Ab-Soul surprises us with a solid release date of June 24th for his long awaited new LP, These Days…, and delivers the video for Stigmata, directed by Dave Free and APLUS FILMZ.

29 May, 2014 12:22 am

Slaine has revealed the artwork and track listing for his upcoming studio album “The King Of Everything Else”, which is scheduled for an August 19th release date through Suburban Noize. The album is set to feature collaborations with heavyweights Tech N9ne, Madchild, Bishop Lamont, Vinnie Paz, Reks and Termanology, and La Coka Nostra brethren ILL [cont.]

28 May, 2014 11:22 pm

As we reported a few weeks ago, Apple has released a statement confirming the purchase Dr. Dre and Jimmy Iovine’s Beats Electronics – makers of the popular Beats By Dre line of headphones and speakers – for $3 billion dollars, marking the largest acquisition in the company’s history. The merger is expected to be completed [cont.]

27 May, 2014 2:48 pm

Update: And the cut is released for preview. Toronto jazz-hip-hop-pop-rock fusion act, BADBADNOTGOOD, whose music you might know from The Man With The Iron Fist soundtrack, have announced a new 10″ vinyl release, which will feature Ghostface Killah and Danny Brown. To be released via Lex Records on June 24th, the tracks are “Six Degrees”, [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.
Most Popular Stories