us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
7 November, 2014 2:06 pm

Directed by Jay Brown. Produced by yU & Slimkat. Mello Music Group: “Music is an exchange of ideas. This album is something for those exhausted with the shuck and jive of pop culture, who believe in the purification rituals offered by hard snares, funky drum kicks, soul-coughing bass, and deeply rooted vibrations. Steadfastly infusing their [cont.]

2 October, 2014 12:04 pm

Words from Jonathan Kim: “DMV representatives, Diamond District, the group consisting of Oddisee, yU and Uptown XO, are preparing to release their March on Washington album on Oct. 14th via Mello Music Group. Today, enjoy the first music video from the album for the song “First Step.” Directed by Jay Brown, the video follows all [cont.]

26 August, 2014 5:04 pm

Diamond District are back with their upcoming October 14th album “March on Washington.” Consisting of Oddisee, yU and Uptown XO, Diamond District first released their critically acclaimed 2009 album “In The Ruff.” After countless solo projects, the group is back a half-decade later to provide ‘wisdom over rhythm’ over neck-snapping drums. Entirely produced and arranged [cont.]

4 July, 2014 11:49 pm

Apollo Brown takes his Thirty Eight instrumentals to an NYC Park for Quelle Chris, Cavalier, Ras Kass, Has-Lo, and yU to cypher to. Join the table as they let loose rhymes over “Cellophane.” Directed by Jay Brown. Produced by Apollo Brown.

20 August, 2012 4:44 pm

The A-side of the next installment in Mello Music Group’s 7” Series comes from Diamond District/1978er producer/emcee yU. The gruff DMV MC is known for philosophical street rap but “Dreams” takes a different route – the result a hauntingly beautiful track likely to end up on repeat. Enlisting Danedra Rowell on vocals, yU eschews the [cont.]

14 March, 2012 2:21 pm

It’s SXSW season and Mello Music Group’s Oddisee, Apollo Brown, Gensu Dean, and yU have teamed up with Muve Music, CricketNation and 2DB to launch their latest exclusive compilation. The new Mello Muve Compilation features exclusive new songs, commentary and classic tracks. Mello Muve Compilation (Exclusive) by Mello Music Group

21 January, 2012 9:22 am

Out Da Box TV is proud to bring you our 1st episode of the year featuring the truly talented DMV Emcee “yU” (of Diamond District). We caught up with yU at a recent NY show show. He took the time to speak on a range of topics relating to his life and music career including [cont.]

20 December, 2011 5:48 pm

Today, enjoy the non-album bonus cut from yU “Can’t Hide” (ft. EyeQ) produced by Slimkat78. Slimkat78′s production features vocal sample and chopped up horns while yU and guest MC, EyeQ, trade verses. The combination between yU, EyeQ, and Slimkat78 seems effortless while yU and EyeQ’s chemistry is undeniable. Enjoy and feel free to post and [cont.]

14 December, 2011 8:45 am

yU’s new album The EARN is officially in-stores everywhere today digitally and on CD! To give listeners a little more insight, yU sat down with director Heron Gibran to discus the new album and music as both progression and record. The EARN has been receiving vast critical praise, and underground album of the year talk [cont.]

7 December, 2011 4:11 pm

The DMV representative and Diamond District member follows up his critically acclaimed solo album “Before Taxes” with “The Earn,” already generating a great response alongside some stellar reviews. yU showcases his growth on “The Earn” while not loosing site of the original formula. yU enlists a host of production guests including Kokayi, Kev Brown, Charlie [cont.]

26 May, 2010 7:33 pm

HHS: What’s up man? Can you introduce yourself to our readers? yU: Yeah, one third of the group Diamond District and also one half of the 1978ers with myself and Slimkat78. HHS: Just peeped your new album, Before Taxes. Can you talk a little bit about that? yU: Yeah, it’s features Grap Luva, I made [cont.]

19 May, 2010 6:04 am

In celebration of the release of his second single, “Real Detriot”, feat. The Left off his debut album, The Reset, Detroit-based producer Apollo Brown is proud to release one of the album’s tracks for fans, “Brainwash Remix.” Apollo Brown remixed fellow label-mate, yU’s original “Brainwash” produced by Slimkat78 to create a completely new sound. Featuring [cont.]

24 March, 2010 10:17 am

yU, a member of the celebrated hip-hop group Diamond District, is proud to announce the release of his solo album Before Taxes. The album showcases the incomparable skill and talent displayed on his group effort, while pushing this dynamic artist into new territory. Before Taxes will be released April 13th, 2010 via Mello Music Group. [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.
  • No items.
Recently Commented On
Most Popular Stories