us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
J. Rawls
27 May, 2014 2:28 am

Here’s a look at the tracklist for the upcoming project from J. Rawls, The Legacy, coming soon. 1. Alpha feat. Barb Fant 2. My People (Prod. By Rashad) 3. Bills feat. Masta Ace (Prod. By Bombeardo) 4. The Legacy feat. John Robinson, Ceezar & Lea Anderson (Prod. By Lakim) 5. Pure Love feat. Keisha Soleil [cont.]

19 May, 2014 1:48 am

A retrospective of the life & career of J Rawls, his travels, the people he met along the way and a small preview of his upcoming final solo release The Legacy, out on Polar Entertainment, June 2014.

5 May, 2014 9:34 pm

On the first release from producing legend J Rawls’ final solo release The Legacy, he pulls us into HIS-story on the song “The Rest of My Life”. Assuming emcee duties, Rawls effortlessly breezes down memory lane over a Mighty DJ DR track with an ILLA J assist on the hook. “The Rest of My Life” [cont.]

12 September, 2012 1:56 am

Casual and J Rawls’ highly-anticipated collaborative album Respect Game Or Expect Flames is now in stores everywhere. To celebrate, we’ve got the official video for the title track, on which Casual is joined by fellow Hieroglyphics member Del The Funky Homosapien for a certified Hiero anthem. Video directed by Casual. Respect Game Or Expect Flames [cont.]

21 August, 2012 6:20 pm

With only a week left before the release of the collabortive album Respect Game Or Expect Flames, Casual and J Rawls are giving fans one more taste before the main course. The title track features Casual trading lines with Hieroglyphics cohort Del The Funky Homosapien over thumping J Rawls production. Respect Game Or Expect Flames [cont.]

27 July, 2012 11:19 am

Off Casual and J Rawls’ upcoming album Respect Game Or Expect Flames, available August 28th 2012.

18 July, 2012 5:41 pm

With their new album Respect Game Or Expect Flames set to hit stores on August 28th, Casual and J Rawls are now revealing the artwork and tracklist for the project. As Casual explains, the striking cover image has a deep symbolic meaning. “The burning Ankh represents new life rising from Nu, the primordial waters, the [cont.]

29 June, 2012 6:35 pm

Nearly 20 years after his classic debut album Fear Itself, Hieroglyphics emcee Casual is a certified Bay Area hip-hop legend. Now, he’s joining forces with veteran beatsmith J Rawls (producer for Black Star, J-Live, Stalley, Count Bass D, John Robinson, and more) for a brand new album, Respect Game Or Expect Flames. The project will [cont.]

23 April, 2012 5:03 pm

Liquid Crystal Project is back with a new album from the quintet consisting of J Rawls (on the production), B Jazz (on the keys and production), Rob Riley (on the drums), Eddie Bayard (on the saxophone), and Charles Cooper (also on the saxophone). The Liquid Crystal Project 3 hits stores everywhere on April 10th, 2012 [cont.]

8 March, 2012 5:06 am

Multitalented producer J Rawls is best known for his work in Hip-Hop, but his skills extend far beyond the genre. In 2005 he began to explore neo-soul with The Essence Of Soul, and he’s since released two albums from his acclaimed Jazz/Hip-Hop fusion band The Liquid Crystal Project. Now, Liquid Crystal is back with a [cont.]

20 November, 2011 7:15 pm

The first single and video for LCP 3.5. Directed by Luke Sirimongkhon. LCP 3.5 will be a special edition album that will be dedicated to having emcees, poets, and singers express themselves over LIQUID CRYSTAL music. The album will be exclusively released on VINYL ONLY first.

28 October, 2011 11:27 am

Ohio representative, J. Rawls is preparing the release of his first single for his beloved Liquid Crystal Project on November 1st. The first single is in preparation of Liquid Crystal Project 3 and the bonus album, Liquid Crystal Project 3.5, which will feature various singers and rappers. The first single will be released on 7″ [cont.]

29 June, 2011 11:17 pm

Directed by Casual. J Rawls presents the latest video from his star-studded new album “The Hip-Hop Affect,” now in stores everywhere. “Find A New” finds the Ohio-based producer linking up with Casual from California’s mighty Hieroglyphics crew for a classic collaboration. “The Hip-Hop Affect” features Sadat X, Rhymefest, Diamond D, Edo G, Kev Brown, Oh [cont.]

21 May, 2011 4:50 pm

J. Rawls and Sadat X speak on their influences and the new project, The Hip-Hop Affect.

19 May, 2011 3:12 pm

J Rawls unites two legendary hip-hop crews for the first time ever, as Sadat X (Brand Nubian) and Wise Intelligent (Poor Righteous Teachers) drop jewels over Rawls’ production. Taken from J Rawls’ new album “The Hip-Hop Affect,” in stores everywhere on May 17th, 2011. Video shot in front of Harlem’s iconic “Allah School in Mecca,” [cont.]

18 May, 2011 6:59 pm

J. Rawls assembles a curious cast of characters for this track off of The Hip-Hop Affect, available now. via Nature Sounds. LISTEN: J. Rawls – “Are You Listening” (feat. Copywrite, Bad Azz, Edo G., DJ Rhettmatic)

11 April, 2011 9:44 am

J Rawls, the Ohio-based producer responsible for bangers from the likes of Lone Catalysts, Black Star (Mos Def & Talib Kweli), El Da Sensei and Masta Ace releases his new album The Hip Hop Effect via Green Streets Int. on May 17th 2011. The album features appearances from Rhymefest, Sadat X, Tanya Morgan, J Sands [cont.]

1 March, 2011 11:54 am

Lone Catalysts’ own J. Rawls spotlights 25 of Ohio’s favorite emcees with the #OHIOTAKEOVER mixtape. 1. J Rawls Intro 2. Slapp – Stalley f. Rashad 3. Good to Go – Fly Union 4. Aint I – Dominique LaRue 5. What’s My Name – Illogic 6. J Rawls – I’m Me Intro 7. Trav Dave – [cont.]

25 August, 2010 1:01 pm

Stalley takes a stroll through New Orleans with its native sons Jay Electronica and Curren$y. Directed by BMike (2-Cent TV), “Babblin’” is soothing, yet touching, in the way that it finds beauty within the post-Katrina destruction. This J Rawls produced jazzy gem is like a time warp to The Roots “Do You Want More” era [cont.]

2 July, 2010 4:38 am

Ill Poetic writes: From “The World is Illuminated” (hosted by J. Rawls). Jerm and I recorded this song back when we both stayed in Cincinnati. Now I stay in Columbus and he stays in Atlanta. We made this in roughly 2006. And plotted for 4 long years on it’s release. Not so much plotted as, [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.
  • No items.
Recently Commented On
Most Popular Stories