us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
D.T. Swinga
12 March, 2013 5:35 am

Late last month, when Dizzy Wright was in New York City, the Funk Volume rapper caught up with fellow up-and-comer Joey Bada$$. The two got together in the studio, and out of those sessions came “Maintain,” a track that will be featured on Dizzy’s upcoming, yet-to-be-titled mixtape. While most collaborations nowadays rarely happen in-person, it [cont.]

6 March, 2013 3:05 pm

With his long-awaited full-length solo project Ascension dropping soon, Jasiri X is is debuting the latest single off the project, “The Pillars” featuring Rhymesayers emcee Brother Ali. Ascension, produced entirely by Religion, hits iTunes and all other digital retailers on March 26th, 2013 via Wandering Worx / Greenstreets Entertainment. The Pillars – Featuring Brother Ali [cont.]

6 March, 2013 11:26 am

With the release of Spit Gemz’ FVCK THE RADIO project last Monday (February 25th, 2013), Gemz dropped off one of the standout tracks featuring heavyweight power MC Vinnie Paz. This next track is an ode to his Lo-Life brethren & his Brooklyn/ Queens roots. Featuring the Lo-Life general Thirstin Howl 3rd & the Fly Shit [cont.]

22 February, 2013 3:01 pm

The extra-hard working Curren$y defeats all stoner-stereotypes, releasing multiple projects each, suggesting that every day he is on his grind. Yet once you experience his music, you realize that sitting around, smoking weed, and just happening to spit some lyrics over beats is a big part of it. So maybe he’s found his element. With [cont.]

22 February, 2013 2:33 am

Over the past two years, Harry Fraud has proved himself as one of the most diverse and talented producers in hip-hop, with a range that extends from mainstream hits, like French Montana’s “Shot Caller,” to blunted soul, including his work with artists like Action Bronson, Curren$y, and others. Along the way Fraud has also proved [cont.]

6 February, 2013 11:16 am

On March 12th, upstate New York duo The Doppelgangaz, comprised of rapper/producers EP and Matter Ov Fact, will release their new album, HARK. The album will be released via the group’s own label, Groggy Pack Entertainment, and today, in announcing the album, The Doppelgangaz are releasing debut single, “Hark Back.” HARK, while it may be [cont.]

5 February, 2013 9:15 am

NY rapper A$AP Rocky has found a quick road to stardom, after creating a heavy buzz with his Live.Love.ASAP mixtape, which almost instantaneously found him as part of the major label system. Landing at this moment now, Rocky is holding a massive hit with the posse cut with “Fuckin’ Problem”, and a sure shot follow-up [cont.]

29 January, 2013 2:00 am

“So What If It Is” is The Foreign Exchange’s new single from their +FE Music: The Reworks remix compilation. Spanning 2 discs, the specially priced set features remixes from Nicolay, Zo! 4hero, ?uestlove & James Poyser, and serves as a primer for +FE Music’s upcoming releases: ManMade by Zo! and The Foreign Exchange’s long-awaited 4th [cont.]

28 January, 2013 6:11 am

Ross teases his next LP, Mastermind, with this first single. Produced by D. Rich. Pussy, pussy, pussy.

26 January, 2013 12:27 am

Starbuck’s employee of the month / Coughee Bros member teams with Scarface and The Legendary Traxster for “My City”.

13 January, 2013 5:55 pm

For almost a decade, we’ve seen Little Brother producer, 9th Wonder, rise from the underground, to produce for acts like Jay-Z and Destiny’s Child, but he’s always kept his ear to the street. With each Buckshot and Murs, 9th has acted as mediator between the east and west coasts, collaborating with both artists for a [cont.]

12 January, 2013 9:53 am

Vast Aire, one half of the highly lauded rap duo Cannibal Ox and founding member of the Atoms Family and of The Weathermen, announces the release of his upcoming EP entitled A Space Iliad, which features 10 b-sides and remixes from his previous album, OX 2010: A Street Odyssey, which includes features from Sadat X, [cont.]

8 January, 2013 11:27 am

Joell tries out a new pronunciation of the word “Brooklyn” on this new track/freestyle.

3 January, 2013 7:26 pm

The history of what would one day become Wu-Block dates back to a song by Fat Joe called “John Blaze”, which featured both Raekwon and Jadakiss, among other rappers. This would be the first time that someone from the Clan appeared on a track with someone from the post-Bad Boy crew, The Lox, despite accusations [cont.]

28 December, 2012 8:58 am

DJ Touré, the venerated DJ/producer for the Hieroglyphics crew, has had a very busy 2012; between running his Bay Area-based production company, 101% Music and producing songs for the likes of E-40, Dolla Will, and Erk Tha Jerk, it’s amazing that he had time to perfect his long-awaited new album, Touré’s Theory: Session One. Nevertheless, [cont.]

23 December, 2012 8:43 pm

Game has experienced a series of highs-and-lows throughout his seven year career, which began as an Aftermath/G-Unit Recording artist, then took several strange turns from there. After a public falling out with 50 Cent, and a struggle to maintain his relationship with mentor Dr. Dre, Game has made a series of questionable moves publicly. Among [cont.]

17 December, 2012 7:02 am

DJ Shadow was pulled off the decks at Mansion Miami this weekend, midway through his set on Friday. As a part of his All Basses Covered tour, Shadow was reportedly asked to hand over the reigns to the club’s resident DJ, as displayed in the video below. Shadow tells the crowd in the clip, “I’ve [cont.]

14 December, 2012 2:24 pm

Wiz Khalifa’s career has had a bit of a whirlwind turn of events after the success of “Black & Yellow”. The single thrust him from underground mixtape artist to major label superstar, yet he was unable to match the success of that single with his 2011 debut, Rolling Papers. While much of that album pandered [cont.]

14 December, 2012 1:10 pm

Early in 2012, Man Bites Dog Records released what may be one of the best producer compilation albums in hip-hop this year, Kount Fif & R.M.L.’s The Swashbuckler Vol. 1: The Viking Wars. Standing alongside Stu Bangas & Vanderslice’s Diggaz With Attitude, also released via Man Bites Dog Records, The Swashbuckler, with production mostly by [cont.]

11 December, 2012 3:48 pm

Together, Dan The Automator and vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Emily Wells combine to make Pillowfight. Today, the duo shares “Get Your Shit Together”, the first single from their forthcoming self-titled LP. The LP is due digitally and on CD on 1/22/13 and Vinyl is due on 2/26/13 via Bulk Recordings. “Ever had a sure thing that managed to [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.
  • No items.
Recently Commented On
Most Popular Stories