us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.
12 June, 2012 7:44 am

Preparing For Capture is out now via Bandcamp. Preview and buy today. Preparing for Capture by Illogic and Blockhead

29 May, 2012 3:39 pm

From the duo’s Preparing for Capture EP. Pre-order now at Starring Raven LaFontant,directed and edited by Erik Anello, concept written by Illogic, Laura Green, Erik Anello, shot by Laura Green, Cory Ring, Matt Aizaga, Andre Doughty, Erik Anello, Eli Tawil, produced by Alec Anello, Adam Haiken.

17 May, 2012 12:41 am

From the upcoming EP, Preparing for Capture. Directed and edited by Erik Anello.

19 April, 2012 7:50 pm

Back in 2005, HipHopSite.Com pressed up a special promotional CD for pre-orders of Blockhead’s “Downtown Science” LP called “The Block Is Hot Part 2″. Limited to 1000 copies, the disc included a handful of unreleased joints from Block, but more importantly a live recording of a performance in NYC. Block had mixed tracks from his [cont.]

1 April, 2012 8:09 am

Two new tracks from Blockhead’s Interludes After Midnight, which drops on May 5th via Ninja Tune. Also look out for The Robin Byrd Mixtape which hits just before the album, mixed by DJ Pizzo. Oh hey, that’s me.

20 March, 2012 1:10 pm

Aesop Rock interviews Blockhead about video games, sports, and other topics. Look for Blockhead’s Interludes After Midnight on May 5th, but before that, The Robin Byrd Mixtape, mixed by yours truly.

16 March, 2012 7:03 am

One of our favorite instrumentalist artists is back, as Blockhead preps his next LP, Interludes After Midnight, due May 1st. He talks about here: As for the whole idea behind the art work, the idea came from me thinking about a time before the internet and cell phones. Basically, the late 80′s/early 90′s. The album [cont.]

28 February, 2012 3:37 pm

PremRock & Willie Green are proud to announce the first single off of their upcoming Remix album entitled: “PremRock & Willie Green: Reassembled” dropping on 3/12/12. The album will feature the entire self-titled effort remixed by various producers all over the country and globe. Featuring productions from the aforementioned Blockhead & Has-Lo the album also [cont.]

23 February, 2012 5:51 pm

Blockhead writes: The Mighty Jones is a group made up of myself, Singer Joanna Erdos, guitarist/bassist Damien Paris and guitarist/bassist Jeremy Gibson. We recently did a little video of us recording at Wreckroom records Studios. The song “The spell” is one of the newer joints we’ve been working on and hope to release in the [cont.]

21 December, 2011 2:05 pm

New solo material from Illogic, with Blockhead on the beats. In other news, we’re hearing Blockhead’s got a new album due 2012…. Anomoly by Illogic and Blockhead

30 November, 2011 3:41 pm

After getting out the gates with their debut leak “Paris”, the Hood Samaritan crew, comprised of emcees Kyle Rapps & Y-Love and producer/deejay Diwon, are back for round two in their promo campaign for their forthcoming FreEP, Honey Dijon. This time around, the prolific Blockhead lends a hand to the samaritan movement with “Rise Up”, [cont.]

2 November, 2011 4:01 pm

From 900Bats This is Aesop Rock, Eyedea, and Slug, rapping on a Blockhead beat in about 1999 or 2000. Huge shout to Despot for holding on to this all these years. This beat later appeared on Aesop Rock’s Labor Days LP as Bent Life (Feat. C-Rayz Walz). Here is a few words from Aes – [cont.]

31 August, 2010 4:57 pm

Blockhead gives Tom Waits’ “Yesterday Is Here” the remix treatment, helping jump off Aesop Rock’s new 900 Bats website (which is dedicated to the memory of more than 900 bats needlessly torched to death by renovation workers in Jaipur.) Listen to it below, download it here. [Audio clip: view full post to listen] LISTEN: Tom [cont.]

27 July, 2010 5:35 pm

As the story goes, Blockhead and some friends got together for a project with Joanna Erdos of The Midnight Show on vocals, called The Mighty Jones. They recorded a few demos together, but one of the members died, leaving the project in limbo. Some time passed, and they began to toy with the idea of [cont.]

18 June, 2010 5:19 am

Taken from the excellent 2010 Blockhead album ‘The Music Scene’. Animated/Directed by Anthony F. Schepperd.

16 March, 2010 2:35 am

These have been around the last few weeks, slowly making their way around the internet. Blockhead uploads FOUR VOLUMES of unreleased instrumentals for your consumption. He says: “I recently found a bunch of old beat tapes (literally cassettes). I hadn’t listened to any of that stuff in over 5/6 years and thought it would be [cont.]

7 January, 2010 7:08 am

Providing the backdrops for Aesop Rock’s early releases got Blockhead through the door, leading to his own solo career as an instrumentalist. Comparisons to DJ Shadow were inevitable, as Block employed a similar brand of moody atmospherics, vintage samples, and heavy drum samples found on Shadow’s Endtroducing. But while Shadow seemed to abandon that style [cont.]

4 October, 2007 5:09 am

Several months back, Blockhead threatened on his MySpace blog that he was working on an album of “happy beats”. Besides his work with Aesop Rock, he’s primarily known for constructing sample based masterpieces like Music By Cavelight and it’s worthy follow-up Downtown Science. Block’s moody beats have become the safe alternative for those still wondering when DJ [cont.]

20 October, 2005 12:00 am

       Many accidental children were had, many blunts were smoked, and many tears were cried to the sounds of 2004′s “Music By Cavelight” by Blockhead. This seminal release was the official debut from the NYC instrumentalist, who back then was best known for his Aesop Rock production on “Labor Days” and other LP’s. A year [cont.]

6 April, 2004 12:00 am

    Originally introduced as the man providing the sonic backdrops to Aesop Rock’s first two official releases, Float and Labor Days, Blockhead shared production duties on last year’s Bazooka Tooth with other producers, most likely to work on his instrumental opus for Ninja Tune, Music By Cavelight. Following the little heard Broke Beats, this album marks [cont.]

  Mixtape D.L.